BIOGRAPHY


Jean-Baptiste Fonlupt played in December 2016 as a soloist with Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra in Saint-Petersburg the Jolivet piano concerto, during the Piano International Festival in the Mariinsky Theater. For this occasion he also gave a full Franz Liszt recital the day after.


His other recent concerts brought him to different pretigious festivals: Piano aux Jacobins in Toulouse, the Lisztomanias Festival in Châteauroux, the Esprit du Piano Festival in Bordeaux, the Chopin Festival in Nohant, Piano en Valois in Angoulême, the Liszt en Provence Festival, Solistes à Bagatelle in Paris, in several halls in China, in Belgium, in Japan, in Russia, in Italy at the Festival dei due Mondi in Spoleto.


Born in 1976, he began studying the piano at the age of 6 with Jeanine Collet and Christian Bernard at the Conservatoire in Grenoble. At the age of 13, he wins the "Royaume de la Musique" competition and plays the first Mendelssohn piano concerto with the "Colonne" orchestra at the Maison de la Radio in Paris. A year later, he wins the 1st prize at the Steinway for Young Talents competition, through which he appears as soloist at the Théâtre des Champs-Élysées. In 1991, he entered the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris in the class of Bruno Rigutto. He also took lessons with Georges Pludermacher, with the Russian-Georgian pianist Eliso Virssaladze, and with the German pianist Michael Endres in Berlin.


Jean-Baptiste Fonlupt released in 2016 a recording dedicated to Robert Schumann (Variations Abegg, Arabesque, Novelletten no.2, 7 & 8, the Songs of the Dawn, Geistervariationnen) for the Esprit du Piano label, awarded 5 Diapasons in the Diapason Magazine. Interested by all kind of repertoire, from JS Bach to the contemporary music, his discography also reflects a special attention to the lesser known repertoire: he has recorded rare pieces by Franz Liszt (3 Apparitions Klavierstück, Impromptu..) and piano sonatas by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. In 2014, he records a CD devoted to Chopin for which he is acclaimed "Revelation 2014" Chopin at Nohant Festival, which was also awarded 5 Diapasons.


In 2010, he has been invited to Caracas, Venezuela, as soloist for the world premiere of "Anamorphoses" for piano and orchestra by french composer Joseph-François Kremer, with the Simon Bolivar Orchestra conducted by Christian Vasquez. This concert is regularly broadcast on the TV music channel Mezzo.


His recordings are broadcast on the french radios like Radio Classique and France Musique, and in abroad like CBC Radio Canada.



Read the press articles



 

JEAN-BAPTISTE
FONLUPT

Home Bio Recordings Listen Photos Press Contact FR I EN

Home Bio Disques Ecouter Photos Presse Contact FR I EN

            

JEAN-BAPTISTE
FONLUPT

BIOGRAPHIE


Jean-Baptiste Fonlupt s’est produit en décembre 2016 en tant que soliste au Théâtre Mariinsky de Saint-Petersbourg avec l’orchestre du Mariinsky sous la direction de Valery Gergiev. Il y a interprété à l’occasion de l’ouverture du Piano International Festival le concerto pour piano de Jolivet. Il a également joué lors de ce festival un récital entièrement consacré à Franz Liszt.


Ses autres concerts récents l’ont mené dans de prestigieux festivals: Piano aux Jacobins à Toulouse, Lisztomanias de Châteauroux, l’Esprit du Piano à Bordeaux, Festival Chopin de Nohant, Piano en Valois à Angoulême, au festival Liszt en Provence, à Solistes à Bagatelle à Paris, dans plusieurs ville de Chine, en Belgique, au Japon, en Russie, en Italie au Festival dei due Mondi de Spoleto.


Né en 1976, il débute le piano à l’âge de 6 ans avec Jeanine Collet et Christian Bernard au Conservatoire de Grenoble. A l’âge de 13 ans, il remporte le concours du Royaume de la Musique et joue le 1er concerto de Mendelssohn avec l’orchestre Colonne à la Maison de la Radio à Paris. Un an plus tard, il remporte le 1er prix du concours Steinway Jeunes Talents, grâce auquel il joue en soliste au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées. En 1991, il est admis à l’unanimité au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris dans la classe de Bruno Rigutto. Il se perfectionne par la suite auprès de Georges Pludermacher, de la pianiste russo-géorgienne Elisso Virssaladze puis du pianiste allemand Michael Endres à Berlin.


Jean-Baptiste Fonlupt a sorti en 2016 un disque dédié à Robert Schumann (Variations Abegg, Arabesque, Novellettes no.2, 7 & 8, les Chants de l’Aube, Geistervariationnen) pour le label Esprit du Piano, qui a obtenu la récompense de 5 Diapasons. Passionné par tous les types de répertoire, de JS Bach à la musique contemporaine, sa discographie témoigne aussi d’une attention particulière pour le répertoire moins connu: il a gravé des pièces rares de Franz Liszt (3 Apparitions, Klavierstück, Impromptu..) ainsi que des sonates de Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach. En 2014, il enregistre un disque consacré à Chopin pour lequel il est nommé Révélation 2014 au Festival Chopin de Nohant, qui obtient également 5 diapasons.


En 2010, il a été invité comme soliste à Caracas, Venezuela, pour la création en première mondiale de Anamorphoses, pièce concertante pour piano et orchestre, du compositeur Joseph-François Kremer, avec l’Orchestre des Jeunes Simon Bolivar sous la baguette du chef Christian Vasquez. Ce concert est régulièrement diffusé sur la chaîne musicale Mezzo.


Ses disques sont diffusés sur les ondes, aussi bien dans les émissions de Radio Classique et de France Musique, mais aussi sur les radios étrangères comme CBC Radio Canada.



Articles de presse